book review

Early last fall, after visiting Williamsburg’s local yarn shop, Knitting Sisters, where I had purchased a couple of skeins of a beautiful hand dyed alpaca yarn, I started getting very interested and curious about knitting and the yarn industry. At this point, I was a very novice knitter, the only thing I knew about knitting was how to cast on my stitches, knit and purl, and binding off. Because my new yarn was expensive, soft, high quality yarn, I didn’t want to waste it on a simple knit stitch. It was special and it deserved something more. Not knowing the ultimate source for knitting, I just headed to Barnes & Noble, to simply flip through knitting magazines, in hope to find something trendy. 

Although, I purchased a couple magazines, I didn’t find anything that really stuck with me, so I continued my research online. It was there, that I discovered the trend for the fall, the cowl. The Cashmere Cowl by Joelle Hoverson, although simple, ended up being one of my favorites. I soon became obsessed with her website, Purlbee.com, and her book, Last-Minute Knitted Gifts.

LAST-MINUTE KNITTED GIFTS, by JOELLE HOVERSON 

Why I love this book? It is a great source for knowledge. I’m not talking about a step by step on how to cast on your stitches, but instead she explores color, defines natural fibers, and talks about different tools. This knowledge isn’t just a necessity for all knitters, but also for all artists. As for the patterns, you will not find your grandma’s sweater in here. Everything about this book is current, trendy, and chic. She finds inspiration from the streets of New York City. 

“I worried that quick projects would limit my creativity, that they weren’t quite real. I’d always felt that knitting should be about the process, not about cranking out finished pieces in a short time. But as it turned out, this book has been a revelation for me.”

This quote by the author is beyond true, and sums up how I feel about the book. Yes, knitting should be a process. The hard work and time, put into a piece makes it that much more satisfying when it is completed. However, a quickly created project is ideal for the novice knitter, who is so excited, and more than anything,  just wants to wear a finished piece, she handmade. 


Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

